A guide to a constantly changing life through photography.

Aurora follow-up (March 9,2012)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, been too hectic to post earlier, so I’ll just jump right in.  Richard got home from work last night, showered and dressed warmly, ate a good dinner and waited impatiently for dark to arrive.  Aware lights are generally best viewed from 10pm – 3am, we took our chances earlier.  My loving man works hard and I felt blessed he wanted to go with me at all, so I wanted to respect how tired I knew he was.  Around 7:30pm we headed out of town for my favorite spot, an abandoned farm about 10 miles out of town.  I knew the layout of the grounds pretty well and felt sure that if we did get good lights, that the farm would make an interesting foreground for the display.

The full moon lay low on the horizon, fat, yellow and lumbering higher as we arrived at our destination.  Upon arrival, I ran through my head all the techniques I had brushed up on for photographic success.  The light of the moon allowed me to run through some tests and be prepared.  Boy, was it COLD outside.  In our long-johns and winter get-up, we walked around the grounds, set-up the tripod, took some moon glow shots and hoped and prayed for lights.  Richard was so excited about the possibility of seeing them, of us seeing them together.  We stood outside watching the skies, snuggling in love and for warmth…but no lights.  We retreated to the truck for heat and a snack and drink and talked and listened to music.  Still no lights.  By now, I am concerned for Richard as he has a very long day at work the next day and it’s getting late.  I decide that whenever what you plan doesn’t occur in photography, then make something else.  Taking advantage of the setting under the beautiful full moon, I climb out and take one last round of photos.  Of course, it’s been a while (10 yrs) since doing any night photography, and with my mind focused on the much different than daylight settings, I completely over-looked my fogged up lens from moving from the toasty warm truck to the brutally cold outdoors.  A foggy lens is not conducive to good photography.  Live and learn and remember – oh well.  I got a few I really like, had a wonderful evening with my love out under the stars, and have enough memories to last a lifetime.  Besides, now we’ll be better prepared when the lights DO show up in our sweet, little part of the world.  And, they will.

Leave a Reply

