A guide to a constantly changing life through photography.

American White Pelican

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today I had to go to Mirror Lake & Park to take photos to be included in a grant application for park improvement funds.  The deadline is tomorrow and we have been waiting for days for it to be clear and sunny.  No luck, overcast and rainy, freezing (11 degrees) & VERY windy.  Had to take the pictures today.  I was SO glad I did.  I took photos all the way around the lake of all topics the Park President asked for, when I got to the far side of the lake, I spotted a white bird with a bunch of Canadian geese.  I walked over slowly and happened to catch some nice photos.  Introducing the American White Pelican.

For more information go to:

http://missoulian.com/lifestyles/territory/north-dakota-refuge-nears-record-number-of-pelicans/article_f1e24654-c786-11e1-b148-0019bb2963f4.html

I hope you all enjoy them…It was a beautiful and magical moment for me.

5 responses

  1. Vikki

    You are totally amazing!! Thank you so much for sharing these pictures. I can not tell you how much it has touched me and I don’t know why. Probably because you were right there! You experienced the magnificence of this wonderful creature in real life. I am lucky enough to share your vision today and I love birds so much. I will always have this link.
    Love to you,
    Vikki

    October 25, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    • Hi sweet pea! You are with me on each and every adventure. The secret to a happy and fulfilled life is to never take a moment for granted. I find adventure on my 3 block trek to the grocery store..hahahha! Life is a gift, open it every day! (and bring a camera!!!)

      December 1, 2012 at 8:11 am

  2. Jeni and Terry

    Very nice photos Leslie! Thanks, Bear and Jeni

    October 25, 2012 at 7:43 pm

  3. Ed Smelly

    That’s pretty cool. You don’t think of pelicans living in some place like the Great Plains. Nice photos and I’m glad you had the experience.

    October 26, 2012 at 3:17 am

    • Yeah, thanks! I was so surprised when I realized what “that white bird” was! Happy, happy to have had camera in hand or no one would have believed me 😀 Makes me think of our adventure at that reserve we went to in CA together..

      December 1, 2012 at 8:08 am

Leave a Reply

